Fish Tacos and Crunchy Corn Guacamole

The taco is pretty much the official food of San Antonio, so I guess it’s appropriate that this is the first recipe I post, but it’s just what I pulled from the recipe jar this week. Both the tacos and the guacamole are adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything (10th Anniversary Edition). No cilantro was harmed in the making of this meal.

Fish Tacos

This recipe taught me that you can microwave fish, and nothing bad will happen to you. It’s pretty good, but it could use more flavor. I think future attempts will involve some lime juice and maybe garlic or something. Also, I don’t usually get corn tortillas, but they really are better than flour for these.

Makes: 3-4 servings. I will be eating fish for a while.
Time: Supposedly 20 minutes. I wasn’t timing myself, but I think if I weren’t also making guacamole, that might be about right.

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and roughly chopped
  • About 1 1/2 lb thick whitefish fillets. I used cod
  • Salt and fresh pepper
  • Corn tortillas
  • Condiments:
    • Shredded cabbage
    • Chopped tomato
    • Hot sauce
    • Sour cream
    • Crunchy corn guacamole (See Below)
    • Lime juice

Directions

  1. Put the onion and jalepeno in a microwave-safe casserole with a lid.
    Fish Tacos - Onions and Peppers
  2. Add 1 tablespoon of water and put the fish on top. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Next time I do this, I’ll probably replace the water with lime juice.
    Fish Tacos - Uncooked
  3. Cover and microwave 4 minutes. Yes, microwave. While it’s cooking, heat your tortillas in a skillet.
    Heating Tortillas
  4. Assemble tacos. Be careful not to overstuff them. Don’t be a hero.
    Fish Tacos (Cooked)

Crunchy Corn Guacamole

My usual guacamole is pretty simple (avocado, onion, lime juice, and chopped tomato). This is the weirdest guacamole I’ve ever seen/made. It’s kinda brownish because it’s got chili powder in it. It’s good though. The corn gives it a sweet crunch, which is balanced by the mild heat of the chili powder and jalapeno. I went too heavy on the lime juice (a full lime). The original recipe says 1 Tbl. I’m saying 1/2 a lime.

Also, the best description I’ve ever heard of how to tell if an avocado is ripe: Squeeze it a little; it should be as firm as a nose.

Makes: 2 cups (ish?) Enough for 3-4 people or to serve with chips at a gathering
Time: Supposedly 10 minutes. Sounds about right

Ingredients

  • 2 small avocados
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1/4 cup minced red onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 cup corn kernels. I used thawed frozen corn.
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • Pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Cut the avocados in half and remove the pits1. Scoop the flesh out into a bowl with a spoon. With a fork (I used a dough blender), mash up the avocado.
    Mashed Avocado
  2. Stir remaining ingredients into the avocado. If not serving immediately, cover with plastic wrap pressed to the surface of the guacamole with no air bubbles. Oxidation turns avocados icky.
    Crunchy Corn Guacamole (Unmixed)

Crunchy Corn Guacamole

WOOO CELL PHONE PICTURES


  1. To remove avocado pits, sink the blade of a knife into them and twist. 
2 comments

  1. lol that guac does look like death. lime juice for everything! adding some smoked salt to the fish would be pretty good too. i’ve found that some matchstick radishes can also make the vegetable component a lot brighter.

Leave a Reply

