Quiche Lorraine

My most recent pull from the recipe jar comes from Good Housekeeping. I’ve wanted to try my hand at quiche for a while. It’s breakfast in pie form, and everything is better in pie form. Plus it has bacon in it. The internet loves bacon.

I cheated a bit on this one and used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. It was on sale last week, and I really hate rolling pie crusts. I swear I won’t make a habit of it. Also, you’ll notice in the pictures that the crust was just a bit small for my pie pan. I have a 9.5″ pie pan and both the crust and the recipe call for 9″.

Overall, I’m happy with how this turned out. It was good hot the night I made it, and was pretty good cold for breakfast the next day and reheated (45 seconds in the microwave). It could be just a little firmer, and I’d like to try out some different fillings.

Ingredients

  • 1 9″ pie crust (I’ll do a real pie crust on this blog some time, I swear)
  • 4 slices of bacon (I used thick slices)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups milk (I used skim because it’s what I had, but whole is probably more appropriate)
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 4 oz (1 cup) grated Swiss cheese (Gruyere is traditional; I used Jarlsberg)

Equipment

  • Unicorn Oven Mitts
  • 9″ pie pan (but 9.5″ worked ok for me)
  • Aluminum foil
  • Pie weights/dry beans/jar of change
  • Wire rack
  • Skillet for baconing
  • Knife and cutting board
  • Liquid measuring cup
  • Whisk
  • Bowl
  • Cookie sheet for drip catching (probably unnecessary)

Directions

  1. Preheat yo’ oven to 425F.
  2. Press your pie crust into your pie plate. Line it with foil and fill it with pie weights, because you totally have pie weights. If you totally don’t have pie weights, you can use dried beans. If you don’t even have those, maybe you’ve got a big jar of change. I do. My change is now pretty sterile.
    Coins as Pie Weights

    You Totally Have Pie Weights, Right?

  3. Bake the weighted crust for 10 minutes. Remove the foil and weights and return to the oven until golden, about 7 minutes. When it’s done, turn the oven down to 350F and cool your crust on a wire rack.
    Baked Pie Crust

    Baked Pie Crust

  4. While you’re bakin’, make some bacon. Cook it ’till it’s crispy, then drain it on paper towels. Crumble or chop it into bits.
    Bacon for Blog Cred

    Bacon for Blog Cred

  5. Whisk together the eggs, milk, pepper, salt, and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
  6. Once the pie crust has cooled down (it can still be warm to the touch, but not hot), sprinkle the cheese and bacon into the pie crust. Pour the egg mixture over it.
    Cheese and Bacon

    Cheese and Bacon


    Eggs and Stuff

    Eggs and Stuff

  7. Put the pie pan on a foil-lined cookie sheet to catch drips and pop it in the oven. Bake until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 55 minutes.
    Finished Quiche

    D’aww. Look at that quiche.

  8. Cool on a wire rack for at least 15 minutes and serve hot or room temperature.
One comment

Leave a Reply

