Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins

A little background: it’s grant application season, and my PI has been writing grants and having us do last-minute analyses for the past couple weeks. Last week, we got some sequencing data back on Friday–I proceeded to spend all weekend slamming my head against my keyboard to get an icky icky program to analyze it. I knew it would take a long time to run, but with any luck (and running jobs in parallel) I figured I could get it done for the grant deadline on Wednesday. That is, until Windows 8 decided to fuck me over at 1 am on Wednesday by forcing a restart to install Windows updates, sending a ^C to the program and wiping 3 days of progress. So, I restrained myself from chucking my laptop out the window and instead decided to bake something my PI would appreciate–mini muffins.

2014-01-22 01.41.19

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (miniature chips would be better for mini muffins, but I only had regular, and it was 2am…)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2014-01-22 00.55.23

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Grease muffin pan–I used a mini muffin pan here, but a regular one would also work.
  2. Mix the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, salt, and chocolate chips in a large bowl. In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk. melted butter, and egg.
    2014-01-22 01.07.32
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and blend with a spatula–do not overmix, or muffins will be rubbery.
    2014-01-22 01.09.18
  4. Fill the muffin tins 3/4 full.
    2014-01-22 01.10.19

    I used a 1 1/2 tbsp scooper, because those things are awesome.

  5. In a small bowl, mix the brown sugar, 2 tbsp white sugar, and the cinnamon.
    2014-01-22 01.03.07

    I actually made a lot more than was necessary…oops.

  6. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mix on top of the unbaked muffins.
    2014-01-22 01.14.43
  7. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the edges start to brown slightly. For mini muffins, ~8-10 minutes; for regular muffins, 18-20 minutes.
    2014-01-22 01.29.09
  8. After removing muffins from the oven, allow to cool in the pan for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
    2014-01-22 01.42.12

    So yummy!

  9. Present them to your PI and pray for mercy!
4 comments

      1. Thanks! I tried to just remove all list formatting and manually add numbers, but it got mad and made semi-lists anyway =/

      2. Markdown turns numbered lists into…numbered lists. You can actually number everything 1. and it will automatically turn them into the right numbers.

        Unfortunately, it’s finicky about blank lines and other things.

Leave a Reply

