Not dead yet. (And eating coconut shrimp with sweet/sour sauce)

Over the last two weeks, I’ve made multiple foodstuffs with the intention of posting them on here. None of them made it to the actual blog. Here’s why.

Excuses for why I’m bad at foodblogging

  • Pork chops with a lemon rosemary garlic wine sauce: This was delicious and I took a pretty picture and I totally meant to blog about it. But I forgot how I made it. It involved cooking boneless porkchops in a pan with a sauce made of the things listed above and that’s about all I can tell you about it. That’s what I get for cooking things not from recipes.
Mystery pork chops! Fancy! Green beans and mashed potatoes!

Mystery pork chops! Fancy! Green beans and mashed potatoes!

  • Red lentils and rice: This was one of my pick out of a jar recipes from Bittman and while it was delicious, it was also ugly as fuck. So not really fodder for food blogging, since the best parts of food blogs are the photos.
  • Carrot cake cupcakes for Super Bowl: I had a whole plan of doing a companion piece to Edward’s man food for the Superb Owl with Bronco’s themed cupcakes (orange cake with blue frosting). And I did make them… but then the Broncos lost. Really, really, really horribly. And I thought it would be too depressing to make a post in light of their crushing defeat.
Cupcakes to wash down the bad aftertaste of a 43-8 defeat

Cupcakes to wash down the bad aftertaste of a 43-8 defeat

BUT BUT BUT… something good did come out of me making the cupcakes. I have coconut! And what do you do with coconut? Make coconut shrimp with sweet and sour dipping sauce!

Adapted very, very loosely from this recipe that comes up when you google coconut shrimp

THE RECIPE

Cook time: about 20-30 minutes

Servings: 1 or 2 depending on how many shrimp you cook up

Equipment: A couple bowls, oven, baking sheet, small pan

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • Red pepper flakes (to taste)
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 1 Tbsp Vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar because that’s what I own)
  • 3 Tbsp Lime Juice
  • Shrimp (As many as you plan to eat. I ate 7.)
  • Flour for dredging (use judgment depending on number of shrimp)
  • One egg
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used regular because it’s what I had, but Panko would work better)

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees (and grease baking pan if you don’t own a non-stick)
  2. In pan over medium heat, brown curry powder and red pepper flakes. After about a minute, add honey, vinegar, and lime juice. Let cook.
  3. Peel shrimp.
  4. Once done peeling shrimp (about 1-2 minutes probably), remove sauce from heat and set aside in a bowl for dipping.
  5. Mix coconut and bread crumbs in bowl. Beat egg in a different bowl. Put flour in a third bowl. You will have to wash lots of bowls, I’m sorry.
  6. Bread the shrimp by first dredging in flour, then dipping in egg, and then covering in coconut/breadcrumb mix. Place on baking sheet once breaded.
  7. Once all the shrimp are on the baking sheet, stick it in the oven and bake for 8 minutes. The shrimp should be opaque in the center and golden brown on the outside when finished.
Golden brown delicious! (Side note: That's the name of a bar in DC that serves fried chicken and donuts.)

Golden brown delicious! (Side note: That’s the name of a bar in DC that serves fried chicken and donuts.)

 

Leave a Reply

