Red Lentil soup: For when snow takes over the East Coast

TL; DR Summary: It’s friggin cold! I made Lentil Soup with red lentils, potatos, carrots, and onions.

For those of you not on the East Coast, I’m sorry. You probably had to go to work today. It was probably like 60 degrees in San Antonio. That sounds awful and if you can’t handle the jealously, just leave this post now.

No but seriously, it’s snowing here and I couldn’t be happier! Well, at this point, it’s slushing from the sky but it WAS snowing and snowing quite a bit. Most of my friends are tired of the amount of snow this winter and just want it to be spring, but I will NEVER be tired of snow. My feelings about snow can be summed up by Lorelei Gilmore:

GilmoreSnow1

Gilmore Snow

That said, it’s not the best waking up to the stairs outside your house looking like this:

Oh, the joys of a basement apartment in the snow

Oh, the joys of a basement apartment in the snow

I used the dust pan from my broom to shovel out some semblance of a path up to my gate. Yes, that is as difficult as it sounds. But before I did, I put Lentil Soup on the stove to cook so that I would have a nice reward when I finished. Without further ado:

Red Lentil Soup

  • Cooking time: 10 minutes prep, 45 minutes cooking
  • Equipment: Cutting board, knife, large pot, small pan, stove

Ingredients

  • one cup of red lentils
  • one russet potato, chopped into half inch cubes
  • 6-8 baby carrots, chopped into slices
  • One quarter of a large onion, diced
  • 1/2 tsp of minced garlic
  • 6 cups of stock, water, or some mixture of the two
  • Thyme (two pinches)
  • Two bay leaves
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Oil or butter

Instructions

  1. CHOP ALL THE THINGS.
Borrowed from the wonderful webcomic Hyperbole and a Half and editted by another cooking blog callled 'twentieshacker'. Thanks google images.

Borrowed from the wonderful webcomic Hyperbole and a Half and editted by another cooking blog callled ‘twentieshacker’. Thanks google images.

  1. Add lentils, potatos, and carrots to the pot along with the 6 cups of liquid. Season with thyme, bay leaves, and salt and pepper. Turn to medium high and stir occasionally for about 30 minutes.

  2. When there are about 10 minutes left on the timer, melt the butter or heat the oil in a pan so that you can sautee the onions until soft. After about 5 minutes of cooking the onion, add the minced garlic and cook one more minute.

  3. Add the onion and garlic to your soup. At this point, the thirty minute timer should be about done. The soup should look stew-like but still liquidy. If it doesn’t have enough liquid left, add more. If there’s too much, turn up the heat. Cook for about 10 minutes more.

Finished product... much tastier than it looks I promised. Lentils aren't very photogenic .

Finished product… much tastier than it looks I promised. Lentils aren’t very photogenic .


All together, I think this soup was good, but not perfect. The lentils weren’t smooth enough in mine and I’d add ham or bacon next time (when I’m not too snowed in to go to the grocery store). I’d also season mine more, but I’m not sure with what. Maybe curry.

Leave a Reply

