Lemon Dijon Pork Chops with Plum Tomatoes

Don’t tell anyone, but I might like mustard and tomatoes. I spent my entire childhood hating both of them with a passion, but I’ve discovered that while I still don’t like raw tomatoes and I won’t be having yellow mustard anytime soon, dijon mustard is delicious on pork and tomatoes cooked in wine is my second favorite way to consume wine. This recipe is an amalgam of these tastes. All credit goes to me… I didn’t even need to use Bittman to figure out cooking times!

This recipe feeds one, but could easily feed more by doubling the vegetables and number of porkchops.

Recipe

Servings: 1
Time: About 20 minutes

Ingredients

1 pork chop, bone in
olive oil (enough to thinly coat pan)
1 medium sized plum tomato, sliced and halved
1/8 cup minced onion
1/2 cup white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
1.5 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
A generous handful of arugula

Instructions

  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When oil is hot, add pork chop and minced onion.
  2. Brown the chop, about three minutes on one side, then add tomatoes and flip the chop to brown other side. Brown for two minutes on the second side.
    Browning the porkchop

    Browning the porkchop

  3. While browning, whisk together the wine, mustard, and lemon juice. Pour over chop once browned.
  4. Lower heat to low and cover. Simmer for four minutes, then flip the chop again and simmer for three more minutes.
  5. While the pork chop is simmering, rip up arugula and place on a large plate.
  6. Once the pork chop has simmered for the full seven minutes (4+3 =7), remove and place on top of arugula.
  7. Turn heat on sauce up to high and cook uncovered until the sauce reduces to about half.
  8. Finish plating by piling the tomatoes and onions on top of the pork chop and then pouring the sauce over top the whole thing.
My amateur attempts at plating

My amateur attempts at plating

No longer beautifully plated...

No longer beautifully plated…

3 comments

  1. I give up–Edward eats spinach and salmon, now you eat mustard and tomatoes. (And arugula–lah-di-dah) I think you two come up with these recipes just to repudiate your childhood. This does look good. There is something wrong with your list numbering, though.

Leave a Reply

