Scallops, two ways

I swear, I do eat and cook things that aren’t seafood. But baked chicken mostly involves me putting spices on a chicken thigh and sticking it in the oven for 45 minutes. And steak involves a super hot pan and some butter, but not much else. None of these things seem blogworthy. Hence– most of my recipes involve seafood.

Today you get a one day only, special surprise deal: two blogs for the price of one. Basically, I’m lazy and forgot to blog the original recipe when I made it, but have lots of pretty pictures that shouldn’t go to waste. This happens to me a lot (RIP enchiladas, stuffed pork chops, and black bean burgers photos which will never see the light of day because I took the photos too long ago and can’t remember the ingredients/instructions). As a result, you get both my scallop recipes at once.

Scallops No. 1: Scallops in a lemon butter sauce with spring/summer vegetables

Makes about 2 servings, give or take

Ingredients

Pasta of choice (I used spaghetti)
1/3 pound of bay scallops
1/4 cup of lemon juice
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp olive oil
A swig of white wine (optional)
2 stalks of scallions, roughly chopped
1 summer squash , sliced
3 generous handfuls of sugar snap peas
Dried oregano and basil to taste
Parmesan cheese

Instructions

    0. Did you slice/chop the vegetables in the way I told you to in the instructions? Go do that.
    1. Start boiling water.
    2. When it’s boiling, turn it down to a simmer.
    3. Heat butter and oil in large skillet on medium heat.
    4. Add bay scallops and cook for about 2 minutes on each side. They should let out liquid. Set aside.
    5. Bring water back to a boil (which should happen immediately cuz it was simmering). Add pasta — mine cooks for 9 minutes. Adjust recipe accordingly if your pasta takes longer or shorter to cook.
    6. Add scallions, squash and peas to pan. Let saute for about 5 minutes.
    7. Add spices and liquids (lemon juice and optional wine). Turn heat up to medium high and cook until pasta is done.
    8. After you’ve poured your pasta into a collander, add scallops back to vegetables and covered it up in the sauce.
So Colorful. Much Vegetables.

So Colorful. Much Vegetables.

    9. Plate by putting pasta on plate, covering with scallops and veggies, and then shaking parmesan cheese on top. I use dried store bought parmesan. You can be fancy and use real parmesan cheese. Whatever. You do you.

Nom Nom Nom.

Nom Nom Nom.

Scallops No. 2: Scallops with tomatoes and capers

Again, about 2 servings. My general goal in cooking is to have just enough leftovers to bring to work for lunch.

Ingredients

Pasta of your choice (Again, I used spaghetti. Guess what kind of pasta I usually buy?)
1/3 pound of bay scallops
2 plum tomatoes, chopped roughly into cube-like things
1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp olive oil
4 tsp capers (I couldn’t fit my tablespoon into the jar. So I used teaspoons)
1/2 Tbsp minced garlic
A bunch of fresh basil, chopped roughly
4 Tbsp Tomato sauce, pre-made (I had leftover sauce from making spaghetti with sausages earlier in the week. You can use jarred or even canned if you want)
Salt, to taste

I actually remembered to take an ingredient picture for once. May be helpful for estimating basil amounts, given how unhelpful my instructions are. What's a bunch? Who knows?

I actually remembered to take an ingredient picture for once. May be helpful for estimating basil amounts, given how unhelpful my instructions are. What’s a bunch? Who knows?

Instructions

    0. Refer to step 0 of previous recipe
    1. Put water on to boil for pasta. At the same time, melt butter and oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.
    2. Once butter is melted, add chopped tomatoes. Cook, stirring occasionally until water is boiling.
    3. Add pasta to water. Once again, my pasta takes 9 minutes to cook; adjust recipe accordingly for your pasta of choice.
    4. Add capers, garlic, and salt to tomatoes. Cook for 4 minutes.
    5. Add basil.
    6. Push all the vegetable matter to the sides of the pan to make a clear area in the middle of the pan and add the scallops. Cook about 4 minutes, moving scallops around constantly.
    7. Add tomato sauce to pan. Stir it all together. Leave on the heat and let simmer for like a minute.
Seafood. Eatfood.

Seafood. Eatfood.

    8. Drain your pasta and then plate, add cheese if you want to (Unless you’re lactose intolerant or vegan, the answer to the question ‘Cheese?’ should probably always be yes).

Joanna tries to be fancy with plating again. Succeeds better than last time.

Joanna tries to be fancy with plating again. Succeeds better than last time.

2 comments

  1. We have the same cutting board, and the same cast iron pan. Also, people tell me that cooking acidic things in cast iron is bad for it. I don’t know if I believe them.

    I really need to get around to doing something with scallops.

  2. I mean, I’m pretty sure you bought me both of them as Christmas presents. So unsurprising that they’re the same.

    Also, we’ve gone over the fact that I pretty much ignore all instructions on what you are “supposed” to cook things in. I use forks to stir scrambled eggs in my non-stick pan too. Basically, I just use the cookware that looks like the right size to fit all my food. I’m a rebel.

Leave a Reply

