Corn and tuna tacos with zucchini slaw

Last week, I made fish tacos and zucchini slaw. Which is much better than normal slaw because it involves less cabbage. By which I mean no cabbage (The only good cabbage is red cabbage. Made the German way. By which I mean, from a jar and by my mother).

Since it was last week, some of the instructions might be a little bit forgotten. But the two recipes that I stole flavoring and cooking times from are here:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/fish-tacos-recipe4.html

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2011/07/charred-corn-tacos-with-zucchini-radish-slaw/

Also, when I opened up my photo files, I realized that 80% of them were super blurry. My bad. I tried to salvage them with mad photo editing skillz, but as you can see, I wasn’t that successful.

Anyway, enjoy!

Corn and Tuna Tacos with Zucchini Slaw

Serving size: Slaw recipe serves two, taco recipe serve 1 (two tacos, give or take)

Ingredients

I took pictures of my ingredients! The only non-blurry photo in this post! (not pictured: lime juice)

I took pictures of my ingredients! The only non-blurry photo in this post! (not pictured: lime juice)

Slaw Stuff

1 medium sized zucchini (I took a picture of 2, but only used 1), grated
1/4 cup of diced onion (about 1/3 of an onion)
1/3 of a jalepeno, diced
1/4 cup of lime juice

Taco Stuff

1 tuna steak, cubed (to increase servings size of recipe, just sear a tuna steak per person)
1 ear of corn (also make as many corns as you have people)
Spice mixture of oregano, thyme, paprika, black pepper, and salt
Tbsp of oil for pan
Tortillas (I use flour store bought, do whatever’s your preference)
sour cream
shredded cheddar cheese

Instructions

  1. Start boiling water in a big pot for corn.
  2. While water heats up, make your slaw by mixing together the grated zucchini, diced onion, jalepeno, and lime juice. If you haven’t done all the chopping and such ahead of time, it’ll take you about the time it takes for the water to boil to do this.

    Blurry zucchini slaw. Yum.

    Blurry zucchini slaw. Yum.

  3. Add corn to pot, set timer for 10 minutes.

  4. Start heating oil in an pan. Coat your tuna pieces in the spice mixture.
  5. When corn has only 4 minutes left, put tuna pieces in the heated oil. Turn after 1-2 minutes, making sure each side gets brown.
  6. Remove all your things from the cooking apparatus. Cut off about half of each corn to go in the tacos and then eat the remainder of the corn like normal corn on the cob.
  7. Now go make your tacos — I assume you know how to do that. Put all the things in a tortilla and fold.
    Taco Making Stations are go!

    Taco Making Stations are go!

3 comments

  1. Not me. I don’t know if you’re doing it wrong, but I don’t boil corn for 10 minutes. Here is what I do: Lay husked corn in pot. Add enough water just to cover. Bring to boil over high heat. Boil for 2 minutes. Remove pot from heat, cover, and allow to sit for 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

