Mushroom Stroganoff

I’m really behind on posting recipes on here — I have 2 or 3 recipes that turned out well and I took photos that are just sitting in my camera waiting for me to get around to uploading them. I’ll hold off on posting some of the older ones and instead post another installment in the “Joanna cooks vegetarian things lawlz” series. Recipes to look forward to include: Thai Red Curry with Shrimp, Peppers, and Broccoli; Open Face Roasted Vegetable and Cheese Sandwiches with avocado garlic mayonnaise; Lentil and Quinoa Vegan “Chili”.

I found the recipe this is based on through one of Buzzfeed’s recipe lists (probably something called 27 Cozy Vegetarian Dishes for Fall… that sounds like something I would read) and it originates from a food blog called “Amuse your Bouche: simple vegetarian recipes.” If you’d like to check out the original recipe, it can be found here

Mushroom Stroganoff

Servings: I cut the recipe in half, so one hungry person or two people with medium to small appetites. It was enough for a good sized meal with no leftovers for me

Cooking Time: 15-20 minutes

Ingredients

1 tbsp oil
2/3 medium onion, diced
2 tsp minced garlic (aka 4 cloves, minced)
300 grams button mushrooms (about one pint container), sliced
50 ml vegetable stock
1 tsp paprika
Black pepper
Salt
4 tbsp sour cream

How to cook the thing:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan over medium heat. Sautee the mushrooms, onion, and garlic for about five to seven minutes. They should be soft and have let off some liquid.

Sautéing the mushrooms, onion, and garlic. Oolala.

Sautéing the mushrooms, onion, and garlic. Oolala.

2. Add the vegetable stock, paprika, and pepper & salt (pepper liberally, salt frugally) and cook for five more minutes.

The paprika adds that nice brown color. My camera and overhead lights adds the yellowish tinge. My bad.

The paprika adds that nice brown color. My camera and overhead lights adds the yellowish tinge. My bad.


3. Add the sour cream and stir it all together. Let simmer for one more minute and then pull of the heat
nomnomnom look at all that sour cream

nomnomnom look at all that sour cream


Serve over noodles or rice.
Note: I served mine over egg noodles. I put the water on to boil when I started dicing vegetables and found that the cooking time worked out nicely.

Leave a Reply

