Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

I wasn’t going to do a post about these because they’re so simple, but then Lynn, who almost never likes double chocolate cookies, said they were “sooooo good.” I figure that means I have to share.

Whereas most double chocolate chip cookies are dense and rich, these have the same texture as regular chocolate chip cookies. That’s because the recipe is actually the standard Nestle Tollhouse cookie recipe with cocoa powder added and some sugar removed. The recipe calls for chocolate chunks, but I used regular chips. By coincidence, both the chips and the cocoa I had in my cabinet were Nestle, but honestly, next time I make these, I’m gonna use some nicer chips. (I like Ghirardelli) The one adjustment I made was replacing the sugar with baking Splenda. It was on sale a few months ago, so I have a lot of it, and I’ve found it works well in cookies, but not in cakes.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar (or Splenda)
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups (11.5-oz. pkg) chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. I recommend you sift the flour and cocoa to remove any lumps. Cocoa tends to get lumpy.
  3. In a large bowl, with an electric mixer, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar. Beat in the vanilla and eggs.
  4. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until fully combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Drop dough onto the sheets in big messy gobs. If your cookies are round, you’re doing it wrong.
    Cookies should always look like misshapen blobs.

    Cookies should always look like misshapen blobs.

  6. Bake for 9-11 minutes, then remove and let set on pans for a minute or 2 before neatly sliding the parchment off onto the counter to cool.
    Aren't you glad you used parchment paper?

    Aren’t you glad you used parchment paper?

Leave a Reply

